Welcome to The Woods

For some time now, I’ve been wanting to experiment with the literary genre which seems to have become known as Creative Non-Fiction. I’ve never looked up a definition for CNF – as I’ve seen it abbreviated in several places – and although I’m sure they exist, I wonder if it’s something that’s easier to recognise than to define.

I’ve also been keen to give myself a reason to write something on a regular basis, methodically, rather than simply as-and-when. I’ve kept personal journals before, but they tend to become horribly introspective and analytical very swiftly.

Welcome to The WoodsSo I’ve decided instead to keep a journal based around the seasonal changes taking place in a small patch of woodland close to where I live. Not a very original subject perhaps, but I do read quite a bit of nature writing, and I’m pleased to see there has been something of a resurgence in this over the last few years. I’ve enjoyed reading books by the likes of Robert Macfarlane, Helen Macdonald and Richard Maybe – I’m not pretending my efforts will be on that level, but I’ll give it a go!

It’s also a subject that I won’t have difficulty seeking out, as it’s right on my doorstep, and I try to walk there every day – if only for fifteen minutes or so. It may not be the grandest bit of woodland you’d ever stumble upon, but then I suppose the challenge of Creative Non-Fiction is to be creative, to bring life to something which appears on the surface to be unremarkable.

Read on…

 

2 thoughts on “Welcome to The Woods

  1. With so many people living in cities, and some with little-to-no access to countryside or even green parks, a romp through your woods will hit the spot! I’d encourage you to let it breathe – describe the tastes, smells, sights, sounds and textures… let the reader experience it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

